Minderoo Foundation26 Jun 2020

Minderoo Foundation joins the Global Goal: Unite for Our Future Concert and Summit

This globally televised and digitally streamed event will highlight the disproportionate impact COVID-19 has on marginalised communities.

GGUFOF_concert_admat_EN_2_concert_email_twitter-extended

This weekend, Minderoo Foundation joins Global Citizen, the European Commission and Gates Foundation in Global Goal: Unite for Our Future – Concert and Summit.

This globally televised and digitally streamed event will highlight the disproportionate impact COVID-19 has on marginalised communities.

Hosted by Dwayne Johnson, the concert will feature performances from artists including Coldplay, Shakira, Usher, Miley Cyrus, Jennifer Hudson, Chloe x Halle, the cast of Hamilton and LA Philharmonic; with appearances by Charlize Theron, Hugh Jackman, Forest Whitaker, David Beckham, Chris Rock, Jimmy Fallon, Salma Hayek Pinault and many more.

Prior to the concert, a summit will also be held, where world leaders, corporations and philanthropists will announce new commitments to help develop equitable distribution of COVID-19 tests, treatments and vaccines, as well as rebuild communities devastated by the pandemic.

The summit is being hosted by Katie Couric, and Isha Sesay, and will feature Chancellor Merkel, President Macron, Prime Minister Erna Solberg and the UN Secretary-General, amongst others.

Andrew and Nicola Forrest will feature in both events via video message, highlighting the Minderoo Foundation’s collaboration with the Gates Foundation, Wellcome and other partners – through the International COVID-19 Data Alliance. The Alliance aims to foster collaboration and ensure the world’s medical researchers share vital knowledge, not only for COVID-19, but future pandemics and other diseases.

Both events will be streamed live on YouTube and most major online platforms this Saturday June 27 from 7pm BST / 8PM CET / 2PM ET / 2AM AWST, and then broadcast in full across a number of networks this Sunday 28 June – including in Australia on Channel 10 (7:30am – 9:30am AWST), Channel Nine (8:00am – 10:00am AWST) and 4:00pm-6:00pm AWST on MTV. Full listings can be found here.

As a Foundation, we’re committed to continuing the fight against COVID-19. Please join us and tune in to support this special event.

Minderoo Foundation
by Minderoo Foundation

Established by Andrew and Nicola Forrest in 2001, we are a modern philanthropic organisation seeking to break down barriers, innovate and drive positive, lasting change. Minderoo Foundation is proudly Australian, with eight key initiatives spanning from ocean research and ending slavery, to collaboration in cancer and community projects.

2 minute read
Share this article
Other Stories